The Danish Søren Hermansen, winner of the 2019 Roger Léron Award


The Roger Léron award, organized each year by the Fedarene, rewards leading figures who, through their perseverance, impact, strategic vision and leadership, contribute to sustainable energy at the local and regional level. Created in 2014, the award bears the name of the former president of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Énergie Environnement. Roger Léron was one of the pioneers of regional energy development in Europe and co-founder of the Fedarene.

The Danish candidate rewarded for his strong involvement in the energy transition

Søren Hermansen, from the Danish island of Samsø, has been a driving force in its transformation into a self-sufficient island in renewable energy. Recognized worldwide for his leadership, he received the 2008 Time Magazine Heroes of the Environment Award, the 2009 Gothenburg Award and the 2011 Svend Auken Award (Auken was a former Danish Minister of the Environment). Søren Hermansen has participated in numerous international conferences and events on the deployment of renewable energy. He is also Director of the Samsø Energy Academy, a former member of the Advisory Group to the Minister of Energy and Climate (Connie Hedegaard) and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Aalborg.

The 2nd prize awarded to two Spanish laureates

Serge Nocodie, President of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Énergie Environnement, presented the 2nd prize to the finalist Josep Puig i Boix, from Barcelona. Vice-President of the European Renewable Energy Association (EUROSOLAR) Josep Puig i Boix has held political posts as a city councillor of the city of Barcelona and a member of the Parliament of Catalonia.

This 2nd place is shared with Maria del Rosario Heras Celemín, also from Spain. Principal researcher in more than 60 national and international solar energy projects, she is President of the Royal Spanish Physical Society and the first woman to hold this position.